St Pats East Kerry Hurling Success – Under 12 County Hurling League 2015

Earlier wins over Causeway and Tralee Parnells were added to a win this evening (Wednesday 12th August 2015) in Ballyheigue when St Pats Ek Hurling won a heart stopping game by 2 points. Score: 5-06 to 5-04.

St Pats Division 3 U12 County hurling league winners. ST Pats 5-6 Ballyheigue 5-4. In a nailbiting finish, St Pats East Kerry held out to claim the Division 3 U12 County Hurling League title in Ballyheigue this evening. It was a great game of nip and tuck with never more than a few points separating the two sides throughout. St Pats led throughout. They were ahead by 2 points at half time – 2-3 to 2-1. They extended their lead to 4 points early in the second half. However, playing in front of their home supporters, the boys of Ballyheigue responded well and drew level midway through the half with a goal to put the score Ballyheigue 3-2 St Pats 2-5. St Pats went 4 points clear only to see Ballyheigue respond with a long range goal. The sides traded goals to make the score St Pats 4-6 Ballyheigue 4-2 with five minutes left. Ballyheigue piled on the pressure and drew level again – St Pats 4-6 Ballyheigue 5-3 – with a minute left. A great puck by St Pats out was worked upfield and finished to the Ballyheigue net and St Pats was 5-6 to 5-3 ahead. Yet again Ballyheigue attacked. St Pats conceded a free in the middle of the field to stop the attack. Ballyheigue blasted a great shot goalwards. But the defence stood firm and deflected the ball over the bar for a point. The puck out saw referee John Ross call full time and St Pats were victorious on a score of St Pats East Kerry 5-6 Ballyheigue 5-4.
It was a most entertaining, nailbiting, exciting encounter which kept the respective supporters cheering to the final whistle. The standard of play from all players on both teams was outstanding.
Afterwards the team made a stopover in Tralee for food at a well known chipper!
Next up are the Denis Nagle and Dr Bill Mangan Tournaments

Team: Eoghan McKenna, Kyle O’Connnor-Coffey, Dara O’Callaghan, Liam O’Brien, Conor O’Sullivan, Oran Daly, Hugh Doran, Cian Doe, Daragh Fleming, Fionn Daly, Colm O’Leary, Tadhg McNamara, Jack Fogarty, Hugh Walsh, Ruari Doran.

Mentors: Gary O’Halloran, Tommy Galvin, Thomas Crowley, Denis Coffey, Ronan Doyle.

Written by

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Menu Title