East Region Junior League Finals – Dr Crokes & Legion Win

Dr Crokes won the Division 1 Title: Dr Crokes 1-13 Rathmore 1-09

Legion won the  Division 2 Final:  Legion 2-14   Spa  1-07


Dr Crokes 1-13 Rathmore 1-09

Dr Crokes won the East Region Division 1 League Final, against Rathmore, in Spa grounds on the 5th May 2015, in a classic game of two halves, which was influenced by the very strong wind. Playing with the stiff wind, in the opening half, and with a strong display in all quarters of the field, Dr Crokes built up a seven point lead by the break. Rathmore had the strong wind in the second half and reduced the margin to two points, with as many minutes remaining, but it was Dr Crokes finished the closing minutes of the game the stronger and the Lewis road side ran out winners with a 4 point margin.

Dr Crokes dominated the middle area of the field for much of the opening half and got off to a dream start to lead by 1-03 within the first 8 minutes. Keith O’Leary, opened the scoring with a point from the throw in. Gavin Tucker quickly pointed a free before Keith O’ Leary tapped the ball to the back of the net from a long distance free, well taken by Bryan O’ Shea, who followed with a pointed free shortly afterwards. Tom Kelleher opened the Rathmore account with a point on the eighth minute, and Gavin Tucker replied with 2 well picked off points, the second set up by Mark Egan who made a surging run forward, passed to Gavin who pointed. On the stroke of 15 minutes Mark T Reen reacted quickly to put the ball to the back of the Dr Crokes net, after the ball passed thought a number of hands, near the goalmouth. Dr Crokes led by 4 points going into the second quarter and increased their lead with three unanswered points from play from the boots of Bryan O’Shea, Gavin Tucker (f) and Keith O’Leary. Score at the break: Dr Crokes 1-08 Rathmore 1-01.

On the restart, Dr Crokes Captain, Keith O’ Leary opened the scoring with a point from the throw in. However, the scoring was evenly balanced for the remainder of the quarter. Rathmore scored 2 points (Stephen Lehane and Mark T Reen, the latter from a nice pass after a solo from defence by Daniel O’ Sullivan). Cian O‘ Neill and Bryan O’ Shea pointed for Dr Crokes and Mark T Reen replied for Rathmore, and Dr Crokes led 1-11 to 1-05 going into the last quarter. Rathmore, who were playing with the strong wind for the second half, dominated the middle area of the field in the last quarter and reduced the margin to 2 points, 1-11 to 1-09, with 2 minutes of normal time remaining, Mark T Reen (2) and Stephen Lehane (3) on target for the Rathbeg side. However, Dr Crokes dominated the middle area for the remainder of the game and notched up two points in the closing minutes, the first by Bryan O’Shea and the second from the boot of Jason O’Sullivan. Final score: Dr Crokes 1-13 Rathmore 1-09.

Referee: Brendan Brosnan (Glenflesk)

Joan and Jimmy Doyle presented the James Doyle Memorial Cup to the Dr Crokes Captain, Keith O’ Leary, alongside Tim Ryan, Chairman of the East Kerry Board. Tim thanked Spa club for the use of their facilities. He also thanked the referee and officials and congratulated both teams on a sporting game and Dr Crokes on winning.

Dr Crokes team: Johnny O’ Leary, Cillian Fitzgerald, Keith McMahon, Sean Coppinger , Jason Lyne, Mark Egan, Eanna Kavanagh, P. J. Lawlor, James Jones, Gavin Tucker (0-04;2f), Bryan O’ Shea (0-04;3f), Darran O’ Doherty, Cian O’ Neill (0-01), Phillip O’ Connor, Keith O’ Leary (Capt) (1-03;1f). Substitutes: Chris Doncel, Brendan Falvey, Shane Lyne, Jason O’ Sullivan(0-01).

Management: Moss Harmon, Eddie O’ Sullivan, Tadhg Fleming, Pat O’ Shea,

Rathmore team: Shane O’Callaghan, Tadhg O’Mahony, Eugene O’Connor, Colm Kelly, Donal Kelleher, Tom O’Sullivan, Donal Casey, Tom Kelleher (0-01), Padraig Desmond, Stephen Lehane (0-04), Sean O’Riordan (Capt), Johnathan Reen, Patrick O’Callaghan, Daniel O’Sullivan, Mark T. Reen (1-04). Substitutes: Dean Fitzgerald, Shane Reen,

Management: Donal Casey, Louis O’Keeffe, Mark Nagle, Derek Moynihan



Legion 2-14 Spa 1-07.

In a local darby, between Legion and Spa, it was Legion who claimed the East Region Division 2 Junior League title last week. Two opening points from Jamie Spillane was Spa’s reward for a bright ten minute start. But Spa failed to score for the following twenty five minutes as Legion racked up seven points from captain Derek Twomey, Aidan Slattery, Donal Lyne and Andy O’Regan. Legions dominance in this period was orchestrated by the high fielding Donal Lyne at midfield, the evergreen full back Sean Hegarty and the hard working centre forward Aidan Slattery whose assistance around the half back line lifted the Spa siege on a number of occasions. Spa failed to convert a number of scoreable chances in this period but they were playing into a gusting wind which made point taking difficult. Midway through the half, Spa attacked from defence. Conor Gleeson and Aidan Mulvaney worked the ball to Alfie Giles. He offloaded to Pat Cronin who won a free 30metre out but Jamie Spillane’s effort rebounded into the hands of Aidan Slattery and Legion moved the ball quickly to their forward division where Derek Twomey converted. That passage epitomised the tough luck of Spa and the fast profitable moves of Legion.   A Jamie Spillane pointed free saw Scott O’Mahony reply with a goal for Legion. Another Spillane free brought the half to a close. Legion 1-7 Spa 0-4.


Legion points from Alan Moriarty and Donal Lyne were cancelled by Tim Hussey and Padraig Courtney as Spa had now upped their work rate. Twelve minutes into the half it paid a dividend and following a number of Spa attempts on goal Conor Gleeson eventually raised a green flag following a goalmouth scramble – 1-9 to 1-6 in Legions favour. The Legion response was swift. Derek Twomey pointed from a free. Then came the killer blow. Legions David McCarthy broke through the defence and blasted for goal. Aaron Farrell parried. McCarthy won the rebound, passed Farrell and struck again. In nipped Michael Murphy to catch the shot but the ball was deemed to have crossed the line – 2-10 to 1-6 for Legion. With ten minutes left it looked all over for Spa and four further points from Aidan Slattery, Derek Twomey and David McCarthy sealed the win as Jamie Spillane got a final consolation point from a free. Final score: Legion 2-14 Spa 1-7.

East Kerry Vice Chairman Johnny Brosnan presented the cup to winning Captain Derek Twomey.

Referee Jim O’Connor (Scartaglen)


Legion Team: KJGriffin, Peter McCarthy, Sean Hegarty, Brian Doolan, Darragh O’Doherty, Alan Moriarty (0-1), Bryan Griffin, Donal Lyne (0-2, 0-1 free), Andy O’Regan (0-1), Rhys Farrell, Aidan Slattery (0-3), Derek Twomey(Capt) (0-6, 0-4 frees), Scott O’Mahony (1-0), David McCarthy (1-1), Ciaran O’Grady. Substitutes: Damien Lyne, Finbarr Murphy, Michael Pierce


Spa Team: Aaron Farrell, Michael Murphy, Brian Lynch, Conor Gleeson (1-0), Conor Cronin, Aidan Mulvaney, Conor O’Callaghan, Donal Murphy, Shane Fenton (Capt), Conor Kearney, Jamie Spillane (0-5, 0-4 frees), Alfie Giles, Pat Cronin, Padraig Courtney(0-1), John Falvey. Substitutes: Timmy Hussey (0-1), Paul Russell, Brendan Lynch.




Written by

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Menu Title