2012 Gala Night and East Kerry Awards Ceremony

The 2012 Gala night and All Star Awards ceremony was held on Saturday 19th January 2013 in the Gleneagle Hotel, Killarney. MC for the night was Weeshie Fogarty. Guests included County Committee Vice Chairman, Ger Galvin(Spa), the Nominees for Awards, Guest Speaker, Kerry Senior All Ireland Winning Captain, Ambrose O Donovan (Gneeveguilla), Sponsors Patrick O’Donoghue, Managing Director Aquila Club and John Feerick, Managing Director The Kerryman

2012 All Star Award Nominees

The 24 nominated players were

Goalkeeper Shane Murphy (Kilcummin) and Colin Myers (Fossa)

Defence John Payne, Eoin Brosnan, Luke Quinn, Fionn Fitzgerald, andShane Myers (Dr Crokes); Conor O Sullivan and Aidan O Mahony (Rathmore); Timmy O Leary and Danny O Connor (Gneeveguilla)

Midfield Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes); John Buckley (Rathmore); Billy Maguire (Legion) Mike Cronin (Fossa)

Forwards Chris Brady, Colm Cooper, Kieran O Leary and Jamie Doolan (Dr Crokes);
George O Keeffe and Michael O’Riordan (Rathmore); Michael Murphy and Liam Murphy (Gneeveguilla); Michael O’Donoghue (Spa).

2012 East Kerry All Star Team

GOAL KEEPER: Shane Murphy (Kilcummin)

DEFENDERS: John Payne (Dr Crokes) Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes) Timmy O Leary (Gneeveguilla) Conor O Sullivan (Rathmore) Aidan O Mahony (Rathmore) Shane Myers (Dr Crokes)

MID FIELD: Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes) John Buckley (Rathmore)

FORWARDS: George O Keeffe (Rathmore), Michael O’Donoghue (Spa) Michael Murphy(Gneeveguilla), Chris Brady(Dr Crokes), Liam Murphy(Gneeveguilla), Colm Cooper (Dr Crokes)

2012 YOUNG PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Chris Brady (Dr Crokes)

2012 SENIOR PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Colm Cooper (Dr Crokes)

2012 East Kerry GAA Person of the Year Award

The 2012 East Kerry Person of the year award was presented to Spas DERMOT COFFEY. The Spa Club has made many major contributions to the GAA scene in East Kerry providing officers of great calibre, talent and ability. Numbered amongst these are Dermot Coffey who is the Face of East Kerry GAA. He is the first man we all meet when we arrive at each game where he presents us with our programme and collects the admission money. He has done that important job for over 20 years in all sorts of weather, with a smile and a word for everyone. For his invaluable contribution to East Kerry GAA affairs the Person of the Year for 2012 was Dermot Coffey.

2012 East Kerry Hall of Fame Recipient

The 2012 Hall of Fame Award was presented to DENIS FENTON, another Spa man of great ability. Having played with his beloved club, Denis served as Secretary until 1966. Denis then served as Runai of the East Kerry Board for 7 years between 1967 and 1974, a period when they brought about huge changes despite tough times in the affairs of the Board. Finance was scarce, competitions often were not finished on time and there was a high incidence of objections and such difficulties to be overcome. Cometh the hour, cometh the man. Denis set about a programme of fundraising and change. Tops of the Clubs was organised and proved to be a great financial success. Scor was started and, most significantly, the O Donoghue Cup, East Kerry Senior Championship, competition was changed from a league basis to a knockout competition. Strong foundations were laid on which today stands a strong East Kerry Board. The East Kerry teams had great success on the field of play during Denis Tenure and the East Kerry Senior team won 4 Senior County Championship titles in a row, the East Kerry Minor team won the Minor County Championship and the Senior team won the Inaugural All Ireland Club Championship. It is very fitting therefore, that the Board pay tribute to his great work and achievements for East Kerry and Denis Fenton was most fittingly admitted to the East Kerry Hall of Fame.

Sadly Denis passed away in April 2015. His widow Kathleen, sons Damian and Mark can be proud of the contribution which Denis made to the GAA in East Kerry. Ar dheis De go raibh a anam dilis.

Menu Title