The East Kerry Board, in conjunction with co sponsors, The Kerryman newspaper and the Aquila Club, Gleneagle Hotel, celebrate the years football and honour their players annually, at a Gala night, which is open to all. The highlight of the night is the presentation of Awards. A total of 16 All Star Awards (15 Senior and 1 Intermediate) and 2 Player of the Year Awards (Young Player and Senior Player) are presented for performances on the field of play. The Board also acknowledges and honours, annually, two outstanding individuals, with the awarding of the East Kerry GAA Personality of the Year Award and a Hall of Fame award. These awards recognise and acknowledge the dedication and special contributions made by the recipients across a wide variety of aspects of Board and GAA activities.

The East Kerry awards were first presented by the Board in 2010 and the recipients of the awards in 2010 and subsequent years can be found on the East Kerry Board web site, under this menu.

The basis for choosing the East Kerry (Senior) All Star award winners is the recipients performances in the O Donoghue Cup competition the East Kerry Senior Championship. This awards system recognises the commitment, dedication and achievements of the players. The 15 players selected receive a personalised inscribed trophy. In addition, awards are made to the Young Player (Under 21) of the year and also to Senior Player of the Year, also based on the players performances in the O’Donoghue Cup Championship of that year.

The process of choosing the 15 award winners involves an initial list of 45 players, who are deemed to have met the criteria. Their names are published in the Kerryman newspaper a number of weeks prior to the Gala night. Based on further assessment, a shortlist of 24, published the week prior to the Gala night, go forward for selection of the All Star Team of the Year.

In 2013 the inaugural Fr Galvin All Star Award was presented. This award recognises and honours the achievements and performances of the players in the East Kerry Intermediate Championship, the Fr Galvin Cup competition. Each of the recipients of the Man of the Match Award in the Fr Galvin Cup championship games are automatic nominees for the Fr Galvin All Star Award.

The 16 All Star Award winners (15 Senior and 1 Intermdeiate) are revealed on the night of the Awards ceremony, at the Gala dinner. The winners of the Players of the Year, the East Kerry Personality of the Year and the Hall of Fame Award are also presented with their trophies on that night.

Tickets for the Gala night can be purchased from East Kerry Board Officers and through clubs in the District.

Menu Title