2010 Gala Night and Inaugural East Kerry Awards Ceremony

In 2010 the Inaugural East Kerry All Star Awards Gala night and All Star Awards ceremony was held on Friday 14th January 2011 in the Gleneagle Hotel, Killarney. On this auspicious night, the MC was Weeshie Fogarty; Guests included County Board Chairman, Jerome Conway (Laune Rangers), The Nominees for Awards, Two Guest Speakers – Former President of C.L.G., Sean Kelly (Kilcummin) – Key Note Speaker and John O’Leary (Spa) – The O’Donoghue Cup revisited; Sponsors Patrick O’Donoghue, Managing Director Aquila Club and the Managing Director The Kingdom Newspaper

2010 All Star Award Nominees

The 24 nominated players were

Goalkeeper Patrick O’Riordan (Gneeveguilla) and Jamie Cooper (Rathmore)

Defence Shane Doolin, Mike Moloney and Shane Myers (Dr Crokes); Kieran Cahill, Tom O’Sullivan and Paul Murphy (Rathmore); Matthew Culloty (Glenflesk); Eoin Lawlor (Gneeveguilla); Padraig Reidy (Scartaglen).

Midfield Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes); Eamonn John O’Donoghue (Cordal); Seamus Moynihan (Glenflesk); Aidan O’Mahoney (Rathmore)

Forwards Daith Casey, Colm Cooper, Chris Brady and Eoin Brosnan (Dr Crokes); Michael O’Riordan, John Moynihan and George O’Keeffe (Rathmore); Michael O’Donoghue and Niall O’Mahoney (Spa).

2010 East Kerry All Star Team

GOAL KEEPER: Jamie Cooper (Rathmore)

DEFENDERS: Mike Moloney (Dr Crokes), Eoin Lawlor (Gneeveguilla), Tom O’Sullivan (Rathmore), Shane Doolin (Dr Crokes), Padraig Reidy (Scartaglen), Shane Myers (Dr Crokes).

MID FIELD: Seamus Moynihan (Glenflesk), Aidan O’Mahoney (Rathmore)

FORWARDS: Chris Brady (Dr Crokes), Eoin Broanan (Dr Crokes), Michael O’Donoghue (Spa), Colm Cooper (Dr Crokes), Daithi Casey (Dr Crokes), John Moynihan (Rathmore)

2010 YOUNG PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Daithi Casey (Dr Crokes)

2010 SENIOR PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Seamus Moynihan (Glenflesk)

2010 East Kerry GAA Person of the Year Award

The 2010 East Kerry Person of the year award was presented to CAIT O’SULLIVAN D’ARCY (Spa). Cait has been the Spa delegate to the East Kerry Board for a number of years and is a member of that hard working committee, the Competition Control Committee (C.C.C.). She has a wealth of knowledge about GAA affairs and can be relied upon to provide valuable background and sound advice to aid decision making. Cait has long been involved in administrative roles in her beloved Spa club and rarely misses a game that Spa plays. She took particular pride in her son Brians All-Ireland hurling win with the Kerry Under-21 team a number of years ago. Cait has been described as one of the best all round sports women that Killarney ever produced. She excelled as a camogie player, basketball player, rower and athlete. She is always willing to provide reports of games she attends and to deputise for Club and Board PROs providing succinct reports for the news media. For her invaluable contribution to GAA affairs at Club and Board level, Cait O Sullivan dArcy is the 2010 East Kerry GAA Personality of the Year.


2010 East Kerry Hall of Fame Recipient

The Hall of Fame Award was presented to DONIE SHEEHAN (Dr Crokes). Having won the County Championship, an East Kerry team went all the way to the Club championship final in 1971 and defeated Bryansford of Down to win the inaugural Club Championship. The trainer of that team was well known and respected Killarney chemist Donie Sheehan. Listowel born Donie who has been described as an infectious sports person. Donie has given a lifetime of service to the GAA in East Kerry and to Kerry County. Over 50 years ago (prior to the O Donoghue Cup) he refereed an East Kerry final won by Listry. He was trainer to four East Kerry county championship sides in the late 1960s. He was a selector with Kerry teams at all levels and is particularly proud of being a selector with the 1975 All-Ireland side. He represented his beloved Dr Crokes at East Kerry Board meetings and for 50 years was their County Board delegate. It is very fitting therefore, that Donie Sheehan is recognised for his great work and achievements for East Kerry and he was admitted to the East Kerry Hall of Fame at the Gala Night on the 14th January 2011 in the Gleneagle Hotel, Killarney.





Menu Title