Content on this page came from the old site….

Note from John — Need content related to competitions… Ideally the stuff seen on this page would be articles about the competitions as they unfold rather than the history I have posted here today


E.K.B History County Championship Connection


East Kerry, both Divisional and Club sides, have a long and successful association with the Kerry Senior Football Championship (Bishop Moynihan Trophy) stretching way back to the first championship in 1889 when Dr. Crokes reached the final only to go under to Laune Rangers.

A quick jog down memory lane charts the progress of local sides since that historic day in May 1889.

1890’s: Barraduff, Rathmore, Dr. Crokes, Cordal , Rathmore, Ballyhar, Muckross, Firies and Currans all took part.

1900’s: Dr. Crokes won their first title in 1901, defeating Cahirciveen. Other teams that took part early in the century included Aghadoe, Kilcummin, Glenflesk, Fossa, Currans, Farranfore, Currow, Cordal and Rathmore.

Dr. Crokes won three titles on the trot in 1912 (defeated Tralee Parnells, Captain Dick Fitzgerald), 1913 (defeated Kilcummin, Captain Paddy Dillon), 1914 (defeated Tralee Mitchels, Captain Dick Fitzgerald).

Farranfore were defeated in the finals of 1916, 1917, Glenflesk were defeated in the 1918 final.

1930’s: saw the emergence of Divisional sides, with East Kerry, Dr. Crokes, Killarney and Listry all featuring during the decade.

1940’s: was a good decade for East Kerry teams with Legion, who were defeated in the 1945 final by Shannon Rangers, coming back to win the 1946 final when captained by Mickey Lyne. Killarney, captained by Tim Healy, defeated John Mitchels to win the 1949 final.

1950’s: saw the emergence of Dick Fitzgerald’s who defeated Dingle to win the 1951 title when captained by Teddy O’ Connor. Eoghan Ruadhs, Kilcummin, Legion and East Kerry also took part during the 50’s. That famous “Dicks” side lined out as follows: Donal “Marcus” O’ Neill, Teddy O’ Connor, Billy Fleming, Donie Murphy, Andrew Larkin, Mick Larkin, Paddy Tangney, Michael O’ Leary, Pa Joe Teahan, Con Riordan, Dan Kavanagh, Tadhgie Lyne, Denis Fleming, Donal Prendiville, Gerald Teahan.

1960’s: saw the Division represented by one team, East Kerry, who emerged as the Championship specialists, winning the 1965 title at the expense of Mid Kerry when captained by Donal “Socky” Lynch, and going on to win 3-in-a-row from 1968 to 1970, all at the expense of Waterville, who included the likes of Mick O’ Connell and Mick O’ Dwyer in their ranks.

For the record, the scores were as follows:

1968: East Kerry 6-8, Waterville 1-9 Captain: Weeshie Fogarty

1969: East Kerry 2-7, Waterville 1-8 Captain: Eamonn Fitzgerald

1970: East Kerry 1-15, Waterville 0-15 Captain: Mick Gleeson


Menu Title