Aquila Club O’Donoghue Cup Final Replay 2014

Rathmore 1-11 Legion 1-10
The Aquila Club O’ Donoghue Cup Final replay, sponsored by the Aquila Club, Gleneagle Hotel, went to extra time last Sunday, before Rathmore won the title by the minimum, in Fitzgerald Stadium, against a gallant Legion team. Rathmore started the stronger and led 1-4 to a single point, the goal, well taken by George O’ Keeffe from a nice cross by John Moynihan, on the seventeenth minute. However, Rathmore did not score again in the half, whereas Legion notched up three points, from the boot of David O’Sullivan, leaving the goal between the sides at the break. Rathmore 1-04 Legion 0-04, the Rathmore points from Michael O Riordan(2), Paul Murphy, and Aidan O’ Mahony, while Connor Keane and David O’ Sullivan were on target for Legion.
Jonathon Lyne narrowed the margin to two points on the thirty seventh minute but Rathmore’s Michael O’ Riordan increased their lead to four points. Legion again reduced the lead to two points, with scores from Shaun Keane and David O’Sullivan but John Moynihan put the goal between the sides, with a well taken point, and the game went into injury time, with Rathmore a goal ahead. Legion’s half back, Damian O’Sullivan made a surging run forward, passed the ball, then won it on the rebound and found the net to level the scores and put the game to extra time, with the sides on a scoreline of 1-07 each.
Rathmore scored four points without reply in the first ten minutes of extra time, Aidan O’ Mahony, with a high ball, pointing in the opening minutes, John Moynihan five minutes into extra time and Michael O’ Riordan , with two well taken frees, to lead 1-11 to 1-07 at the break. It was Legion who scored in the last ten minutes, David O’ Sullivan, Derek Twomey and Tom Moriarty narrowing the gap to a single point with two minutes remaining. Rathmore goalkeeper Padraic Mc Carthy made a wonderful high catch, denying Conor Keane what looked like a certain score and the game ended, with Rathmore a point ahead. Final score of Rathmore 1-11 Legion 1-10.
Patrick O Donoghue, managing Director, Gleneagle Hotel, presented the O’ Donoghue Cup to Rathmore captain, Mark Reen. Jimmy O Brien and his son, presented the man of the match award to Rathmore’s Paul Murphy.
Rathmore team: Padraic McCarthy, Conor Jenkins, James O’Sullivan, Cathal Murphy, Cillian O’Connor, Paul Murphy (0-01), Aidan O’Mahony (0-02), Donal O’Sullivan, Brendan O’Keeffe, Conor O’Sullivan, George O’Keeffe (1-0), John Moynihan (0-02), Mark Reen (Capt), Michael O’Riordan (0-06;5f), Eoin Lawlor. Substitutes: Patrick Reen, Brian O’Leary, Shane Reen.
Management Team: Denis Moynihan, Donnacha Crowley, Dermie Fitzgerald, Brendan Nagle
Legion Team: Brian Kelly, Padraig (Podge) O’ Connor (Capt), Eoin O’ Carroll, Tom Slattery, Danny Sheahan,, Jonathan Lyne (0-01), Damien O’ Sullivan (1-0), Mike O’ Sullivan, Billy McGuire, Jack O’ Neill, Thomas Moriarty (0-01), Sean McCarthy, David O’ Sullivan (0-05;1f), Shaun Keane (0-01), Conor Keane (0-01). Substitutes: Kevin Breen, Donal Lyne, Cathal Sheahan, Derek Twomey (0-01), Andy O’ Sullivan, Aidan Slattery.
Bainisteoir Peter Keane, Treanalai Chris Flannery, Roghnoir Diarmuid Leen

Written by

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Menu Title