2014 O’Sullivan Cup Final

O’Sullivan Cup Final 2014
Legion 1-14,
Dr. Crokes 1-10.

Legion captured the East Kerry Junior Championship O’Sullivan Cup sponsored by O’Sullivan Cycles and Outdoor Centre Killarney with victory over Dr.Crokes played in Fitzgerald Stadium on Wednesday night last. Legion took control of this game in the second half with five unanswered point in the third quarter to set them on their way to victory.
Dr.Crokes got off the better start with points from a Tony Brosnan free and two points from the boot of Jamie Doolan to leave Dr.Crokes leading 0-3 to 0-0 after seven minutes. Legion came back into the game with three well taken frees from Donal Lyne to leave the sides all square. Dr. Crokes regained the lead with two points from Tony Brosnan frees for a fouls on Jamie Doolan. Legion fought back with a Donal Lyne free and a point from play from the boot of Derek Twomey. Both sides added a point from frees from Tony Brosnan and Donal Lyne to leave the sides level at half time on a scoreline of Legion 0-6, Dr.Crokes 0-6.

In the second half, Legion took over from the throw in and within a minute of the restart Scott O’Mahony converted a free, Derek Twomey and Kieran Slattery extended the Legion lead to three points. In the 6th minute Donal Lyne converted a further free and Derek Twomey added a point to leave Legion leading 0-11 to 0-6. Dr.Crokes replied with two frees from Tony Brosnan. Legion dominated once more with points from Tim Regan, Sean McCarthy and a long range free from Donal Lyne. In the 23rd minute Derek Twomey was at the end of a well worked Legion movement to crash the ball to the net to leave Legion leading 1-14 to 0-8. Dr,Crokes attacked down field from the kick out and were awarded a penalty. Up stepped Tony Brosnan who made no mistake from the resultant shot. Dr.Crokes added two late points from Tony Brosnan. Final Score Legion 1-14.Dr. Crokes 1-10.

After the game, the O’Sullivan Cup was presented to Legion Captain Brian Doolan, by East Kerry Chairman Tim Ryan accompanied by Con O’Sullivan, son of the late Owen O’Sullivan in whose memory the O Sullivan Cup is presented. The Man of the match was presented to Legion midfielder Jack O’Neill by Conor O’ Sullivan, Grandson of the late Owen O’ Sullivan. A further nice touch was that a number of match officials were related to the late Owen O’Sullivan. The referee, James O’ Sullivan (Firies) is a nephew, as is one of the umpires, young Owen O’ Sullivan.

Legion team: .KJ Griffin, Darragh O’ Doherty, Sean Mc Carthy 0-1, Ciaran Lyne, Sean Hegarty, Eoin O Carroll, Brian Doolan, Jack O’ Neill, Tim O’ Regan 0-1, Derek Twomey 1-3, Aidan Slattery, Donal Lyne 0-6, David Gleeson, Scott O’ Mahony 0-1 and Kieran Slattery 0-1. Substitutes: Rob Leen and.Damien Lyne.

Dr.Crokes Team: David Neeson, Jonathon Clarke, P. J. Lawlor, Sean Coppinger, Jason Lyne, Mark Egan, Gavin Tucker, James Jones, Laurence Byrnes, Brendan Falvey, Keith O Leary, Bryan O Shea, Tony Brosnan 1-8, Andrew Kennelly and Jamie Doolan 0-2.
Subs: Shane O Neill, Cillian Fitzgerald, Cian O Neill and Chris Doncel.

Referee- James O’Sullivan (Firies)

Written by

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Menu Title